Launching Kitchbi.com

I’ve been very busy the last weeks launching a new web service called Kitchbi. Sorry this first beta version is in French but the English and Spanish ones will follow shortly.

Kitchbi LogoThe idea of this service comes from my work last year on a few Tablets / Pad / MID / Slate projects. I identified 2 usage scenarios for these tablets:

  • one is the iPad as we now know it: the perfect device for reading, watching videos, etc. on the move
  • another one is as a family shared device to quickly browse the Internet to fetch a piece of information, look at a recipe or check a calendar.

I chose to focus on this use case to create a new service for the family. The metaphor of the service is the door of your fridge. Mine is decorated of school calendars, vouchers, notes, shopping lists etc.

my fridge door

my fridge door

The idea was to replace this mess by this:

Kitchbi Life style

Kitchbi Life style

And make it visible from the office or on the move.

As I have most of my family living across the Channel, I added a bit of Social Network: you can link Kitchbis to each other to share family blog posts and family-to-family messages.

The project team I gathered had several other very nice features to add, but we preferred to keep it efficient, and simple.

Now is the time of truth and see if the service matches a need and if it takes off. I’ll keep you posted on this.

Leave a Reply

